>>> Gallery: Outlaw Triathlon 2014

The event, now six years old, starts at the National Water Sports Centre at 6am with competitors facing a 3.8km swim in the Regatta Lake at sunrise.

From there competitors move onto the 180km bike ride, a relatively flat surface which features the popular cheering point at Car Colston and looping round Southwell. All athletes must be back at T2 for the 4pm cut-off before starting the marathon run along the River Trent.

Once running the marathon, athletes will be treated to views of famous Nottingham stadia including Nottingham Forest’s City Ground, Meadow Lane and Trent Bridge.

Spectators should keep an eye out for the four former champions, 2010 winner Paul Hawkins, 2012 winner Harry Wiltshire, 2013 winner Eugene Grant and last year’s winner Craig Twigg, who are all tipped to do well. Karl Alexander, who won the 2015 Outlaw Half, will also be competing as he tries to become a double Outlaw champion.

Craig Twigg wins The Outlaw 2014

Twigg led last year’s men’s race from nearly start to finish and is hoping to continue that form this years. “My best iron distance time is 8:50hrs in Barcelona in 2013, and the aim for the Outlaw is to defend the title and win!”

Click Here: st george illawarra dragons rugby store

Jenny Bosman, last year’s Outlaw women’s champion, will not be competing in the event this year, guaranteeing a new women’s champion and leaving that race wide open. Jenny Latham and Claire Shea-Simonds look to be the key contenders in the women’s race.

Joel Jameson’s 2011 track record of 8:47:47 is still the time to beat in the men’s distance while the women’s record stands at 9:50:58, which was set by Vicky Gill in 2013.

The event is free for spectators, including free parking but local supporters are being encouraged to commute by bike to avoid any disruption.

(Images: Ross Grieve / Dirty Green Trainers)


Are you racing the Outlaw this year? Let us know in the comments below

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *